THINGS I WON’T APOLOGISE FOR

I’ve had a few things happen recently; on the commute to work or at home and I’ve been doing a whole lot of reminiscing which actually, I always find myself doing during the summer which is just lol considering how beaut and ‘seize the day‘ everything is supposed to be. Whilst I’ve been doing all of this thinking whilst I’m meant to be thinking about work, coffee in hand, wishing I was somewhere else other than my desk overlooking a car park, I realised that I’m overly British in the way I say sorry for everything. Caring too much or not enough, eating too much or not enough, getting drunk too often or not enough. You get the idea.

But actually, I’m a bit mardy today, proven by the mission during my lunch break to binge buy chocolate from M&S and there are some things that I just won’t apologise for.

So here goes it.

I won’t apologise for not playing games. I’m a 23 year old working woman and I’m not waiting 4 hours to text back to anybody. Does it look like I’ve got the time to be putting a timer on that tells me when it’s socially acceptable to reply? If I see your text, I’ma reply straight away and get on with my day. Girls, can I get an AMEN?

I don’t go to the gym, I don’t take a protein shake to work, I do a few squats at night whilst waiting for my moisturizer to dry and that does me. I would just much rather sleep or eat than exercise. Unless it involves the sunshine, alcohol or the promise of good food afterwards.

I won’t apologise for spending my money that I work hard for. I don’t smoke, I haven’t got a baby running around, I haven’t got rent to pay. If I want to burn £50 pound on an Urban Decay eye palette, I’ma do that. I’ll be a grown up next year. Maybe.

I won’t apologise for numbers and past mistakes. I wouldn’t be the person I am now if I didn’t meet so many dickheads during uni. I am not a fan of slut shaming and telling women we can’t enjoy our bodies. Hell Nahhhhh.

Going to bed at 10pm – I can’t and I won’t apologise for enjoying my evenings in bed, falling asleep in front of the tv. I’m mental, I get it.

I won’t apologise anymore for wanting to travel. I’m constantly in battle with myself about the need to stay in my amazing job because that’s what everyone tells me I need to be doing. I don’t want to be at work. I’m 23 without any real commitment and find myself apologising for not wanting to be here anymore. Get me on a plane.

I won’t apologise for not apologising. I wonder a lot about how these years would have gone differently if either one of us would have just apologised. I’m not sorry I didn’t.

Of course, that’s not to say that I’m not sorry about a lot of things and apologising is pretty important as far as humanity goes but I don’t think we always need to be sorry. Apologies for the choices we make are pointless. I would never apologise for being me.

Now that that debby downer of a post is out of the way, I’ll get back to talking about food and holidays and how amazing London in 32 degree heat is but had to have a little moan didn’t I? It is hump day after all.

Is there anything you’ll never apologise for?

lovelove,

R.

Author: rheawarren

24. Surrey. Lifestyle Blogger. Addicted to tea and cakes.

Leave a Reply

